Country living

In July, I spent 2 weeks working in a farm in the south of France. I’ve heard of WWOOF (Worldwide Opportunities on Organic Farms) and have been toying with the idea for a while. Then I got tired of the meaningless work I was doing, so I quit my job and began my journey of learning about organic living. WWOOF is an exchange. Volunteers provide help and host farms provide lodging, food and plenty of information on how to lead an organic lifestyle.

I start my day by feeding the pigs. The pigs enjoy a lovely platter of kitchen scraps mixed with organic feed that keep them happy and healthy.

Every morning, my host Stéphane and I would milk the goats. It took a while before I got the hang of it and admittedly, I was rather slow at it. Sté[hane could milk 4 goats in the amount of time I take to milk 1!

No one is stressed in the countryside. We chat while working, take long lunch breaks and enjoy wine over homecooked meals. Everyone smiles and says hello. Villagers offer me lift back to the village when they see me walking along the road.

Francoise is an excellent cook. I had so much fun in the kitchen with her. We’d pick fresh vegetables and herbs from their garden and she’d let me smell every herb before we added them. Everything was fresh and tasted much better than supermarket-bought produce.

When I left the farm, I had 4 more weeks of travelling ahead of it. There was excitement, of course, but I left with a heavy heart. After years or searching, I found the exact lifestyle I wanted. But I knew there’s a lot of work to be done before I can have any of this. It’s a learning process, and a very long one. But I’m not giving up and I’m bring these lessons home with me.

2 Comments

  1. You are showing a tremendous amount of courage by quitting your job and finding your passion. It sounds like you are discovering the apprenticeship model for learning; moreover, I find that this model can function well even in an urban environment. Trailblazing the urban farm idea is still difficult because most city people do not yet have a reference for what a farm looks like in the city, but we are amking progress, one neighbor at a time.

    Reply

    1. Thank you! Unfortunately I have had to start working on the side again at the moment, but my current job gives me the flexibility of time to learn more about sustainability and organic farming. I’m also looking for a local farm to volunteer in. Let’s hope that more people will embrace the idea of urban farms!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

