Laksania

If you became vegetarian or vegan later in life, you’d probably miss some of the good food you used to enjoy but can’t anymore. I know I do, especially since most of our local cuisine are not vegetarian-friendly. Thankfully, places like Laksania make our veggie lives a little tastier.

I popped by after a morning of hard work for some Vegetarian Laksa Goreng. I didn’t realise how much I missed laksa until I started eating! Instead of prawns and fish cake, it is served with carrot slices, green beans, cabbage, bean sprouts, enoki mushrooms and mock meat. Personally, I’m not a big fan of mock meat. But if you like some bite in your food, it does the trick. You also have the option of omitting eggs, onions and garlic if you don’t take them. The spiciness of the laksa was just right for me. It’s spicy enough to leave a tingling sensation in your tummy, but not so spicy that it burns your lips.

(Bad picture, oops)

I dined alone, so I didn’t get to try any other dishes. Other vegetarian dishes include taupok balls, garden salad, vegetarian laksa, vegetarian laksa hotpot and vegetarian fried rice. They also serve gula melaka tea, which I’ve never tasted, so I’ll be sure to try that the next time.

Although Laksania isn’t a veggie eatery, they have done a decent job providing veggie options and I think it’d be a good place to dine at if you’re out with meat-eating friends. They’re also part of the Do Good with Food initiative, where they support the cause by employing their staff from the Institute of Mental Health, Singapore General Hospital and special schools, and I’m all about supporting the needy.

Nex Mall
23 Serangoon Central
#B1-08
Singapore 556083 Bugis+
201 Victoria Street
#04-04
Singapore 188067

East Coast
382 East Coast Road
Singapore 428987
Tel:+65 6346 2026 JEM
50 Jurong Gateway Road
#03-09
Singapore 608549

Leave a Reply

