Take time to breathe

(Plan b, Bangsar Village 1, Kuala Lumpur)

I scheduled a wee break from work last week and took the coach up to Kuala Lumpur to pay a friend a visit. We were flat mates in Manchester and it was like old times – lying in bed, chatting and laughing so hard our stomachs hurt.

There wasn’t an itinerary planned out for my trip. All I wanted was to relax and take time to breathe. I finished a book in two days (Monsoon Rain and Icicle Drops, by Libby Southwell. Good read, especially if you’ve taken to travelling after losing a loved one. I could relate to it), sipped tea while enjoying the silence, had a slow lunch and did some window shopping. We went for Bikram Yoga, talked for hours about horrifying Malaysian crime stories, politics, travelling and image crafting, went for 2-hour massages and eavesdropped on conversations at lunch.

I didn’t do anything in particular that I couldn’t otherwise do back home, but it was lovely to be in a city so much like my own, except without the constant packed-like-sardine crowd and the noise. When I go on a break or travel, I try my best to disconnect digitally. I find myself not tempted to check my phone for work emails and social network notifications…and that is so liberating! I also had the opportunity to think about some decisions I need to make about work and life in general.

This quote came up while I was there:

“Instead of wondering when your next vacation is, maybe you should set up a life you don’t need to escape from” – Seth Godin

Worth a thought, hmm? More on this next time.

Leave a Reply

